Aave Tokenized Stock Loans on Base: Weekend Prices and Eligibility
Aave V4 on Base now lets seven Coinbase tokenized stocks back USDC loans. How the weekend price freeze works, what the tokens are, and who is eligible.

Key takeaways
- On 25 September 2026, Aave V4 on Base launched an Equities Hub where seven Coinbase tokenized U.S. tech stocks can back USDC loans, collateral-only.
- Per Aave, the price feeds hold the last published price over weekends and U.S. holidays, so collateral values do not change until the market reopens.
- Each token is a certificate issued by Coinbase Onchain SPV Ltd, not a share held in your own name.
- The tokens are offered under Regulation S to eligible non-U.S. persons only and may not be held by U.S. persons.
- For any collateral, ask who issues it, how it is priced when markets close, what happens if it drops, and whether you are allowed to hold it.
On 25 September 2026, Aave Labs said Coinbase tokenized stocks were live on Aave V4 on Base. The Block’s headline the same day: “Aave V4 on Base adds Coinbase tokenized stocks as collateral for USDC loans.”
Stocks and stablecoins in the same lending market raise fair questions: what the tokens are, who can use them, and what happens to a loan when the stock market is closed. This post reads Aave’s own post, the independent risk review behind it and The Block’s report. It is education, not a suggestion to borrow, and the market is not open to U.S. persons.
What did Aave launch on Base?
The Block reports that Aave V4 on Base launched what it calls an Equities Hub. Base is the blockchain network built by Coinbase, and Aave V4 is the newest version of Aave’s lending software. Aave’s blog lists seven tokenized U.S. tech stocks: Apple, Amazon, Alphabet, Meta, Microsoft, Nvidia and Tesla.
Per the blog, the hub holds one USDC reserve and one lending “spoke,” a market that pools all available collateral. The Block quotes Stani Kulechov, founder and CEO of Aave Labs, saying that until now a tokenized stock was something you could only hold or trade.
What are these stock tokens?
Aave’s blog says each token represents a certificate issued by Coinbase Onchain SPV Ltd. An SPV, or special purpose vehicle, is a separate company set up for one job, here issuing the tokens. LlamaRisk’s assessment, written for Aave, says each token is a certificate over shares held in segregated custody under a bare trust governed by ADGM law. ADGM is Abu Dhabi Global Market, a financial centre with its own legal system. LlamaRisk describes itself as a DeFi risk service provider funded in part by the Aave DAO, so it is not a neutral outsider.
In plain English, per LlamaRisk, a holder does not hold the share directly. They hold a certificate tied to shares in custody. We covered the same distinction for another platform in our Robinhood Chain explainer.
How do the loans work?
The blog says the equities are collateral-only at launch. The stock tokens can be locked up to back a loan, but cannot be borrowed themselves; what is borrowed is USDC. Each token has its own collateral factor, the share of its value that can back a loan. LlamaRisk’s proposal post explains that in V4 the collateral factor is both the borrowing limit and the liquidation threshold. Aave’s blog does not list the values, and we do not quote figures from a proposal.
Aave’s help page says the health factor “measures the safety of a borrow position,” and a health factor below 1 signals liquidation risk. It drops when collateral loses value or the borrowed amount grows. In a liquidation, part of the collateral repays the loan, and the liquidator receives an equivalent value plus a liquidation bonus from the borrower’s collateral.
What happens to prices on weekends?
This is what sets stock collateral apart. The blog says prices come from Chainlink’s 24/5 tokenized equity feeds, which publish from Sunday 8 p.m. to Friday 8 p.m. Eastern time. Over weekends and U.S. market holidays, the feeds hold the last published price. The blog says collateral values “do not change until the underlying market reopens,” and during that window a position’s health factor can fall only through interest accrual. LlamaRisk adds that while the market is closed, the feed publishes nothing, including heartbeat updates.
Here is a worked example of how the freeze plays out (made-up numbers, not a forecast):
| Moment | Real stock | Feed price on Aave | What the loan sees |
|---|---|---|---|
| Friday 8 p.m. ET | Market closes at 100 | 100 | Collateral valued at 100 |
| Weekend | News moves sentiment | Still 100 | No change except interest |
| Monday open | Opens at 90 | Updates to 90 | Collateral drops 10% in one step |
A frozen price is not a stable price. The feed holding still does not mean the stock held still, so a loan can look one way on Friday and another on Monday. For how fast leveraged positions can unwind, see our post on $1 billion in crypto liquidations.
Who can use the Equities Hub?
Only eligible non-U.S. persons. The blog says the tokens are offered under Regulation S, an SEC rule for securities offered outside the United States, only to eligible non-U.S. persons in permitted jurisdictions. LlamaRisk is blunter: they “may not be held by U.S. persons.” The Block reports the same. LlamaRisk also flags that the tokens could be transferred peer to peer or through DeFi markets to prohibited persons anyway. Being able to receive a token is not the same as being allowed to hold it.
What is in the fine print?
- Dividends: the blog says they are reinvested rather than paid out.
- Stock splits: the affected reserve is paused until the new token multiplier is applied. LlamaRisk explains that if the token and feed update at different times, the token is mispriced by the full split ratio until they realign.
- Redemption: LlamaRisk quotes the terms: “unvested holders shall not be entitled to redeem securities or withdraw underlying.” It says these are typically secondary buyers.
- Trading: per LlamaRisk, the issuer has no formal market making or liquidity provider arrangement.
- Caps: the blog says supply and borrow caps would be revisited through Aave’s risk steward process.
For how U.S. regulators are approaching tokenized shares, see our post on the SEC’s transfer agent proposal.
A four-question check for any collateral
| Question | Aave Equities Hub | Made-up token pitched in a group chat |
|---|---|---|
| Who issues it? | Coinbase Onchain SPV Ltd, per Aave | Not stated |
| How is it priced when markets close? | Last published price held, per Aave | Not stated |
| What happens if it drops? | Health factor below 1 means liquidation risk | Claims “no liquidations” |
| Am I allowed to hold it? | Not for U.S. persons | “Open to all, no checks” |
The real market publishes its limits and who it excludes. A pitch that claims no liquidations at all is the loudest warning sign.
What would change this view?
Our read is that the weekend freeze, the certificate structure and the eligibility rules matter most. The freeze point shrinks if feeds start pricing these stocks over weekends. The certificate point shrinks if holders gain a clear right to redeem for the real share. The trading point shrinks if the issuer names a formal market maker.
What to watch next
- Governance votes on this market’s settings; the forum post we read is labelled a proposal.
- Changes to supply and borrow caps.
- How the market handles upcoming weekends, holidays and stock splits.
- Any change to who may hold the tokens.
As of 14 October 2026, this is how Aave and LlamaRisk described the market. Check Aave’s blog and governance forum first for changes.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Aave Equities Hub?
It is a market on Aave V4 on Base, launched on 25 September 2026, where seven Coinbase tokenized U.S. tech stocks can be posted as collateral for USDC loans. The stock tokens are collateral-only at launch and cannot themselves be borrowed.
What happens to Aave tokenized stock prices on weekends?
Aave's blog says Chainlink's 24/5 feeds hold the last published price over weekends and U.S. market holidays. Collateral values do not change until the market reopens, and a position's health factor can fall only through interest accrual during that window.
Can U.S. users use Aave's tokenized stock collateral?
No. Aave says the tokens are offered under Regulation S only to eligible non-U.S. persons in permitted jurisdictions, and LlamaRisk's assessment says they may not be held by U.S. persons.
What exactly is a Coinbase tokenized stock on Aave?
Aave's blog says each token represents a certificate issued by Coinbase Onchain SPV Ltd. LlamaRisk writes that it is a certificate over shares held in segregated custody under a bare trust governed by ADGM law.
When does an Aave loan get liquidated?
Aave's help page says a health factor below 1 signals liquidation risk. In a liquidation, part of the collateral repays the loan and the liquidator receives an equivalent value plus a liquidation bonus from the borrower's collateral.
Education and commentary only, not financial advice. Crypto is volatile and you can lose money. Do your own research and speak to a qualified advisor before making investment decisions. Figures are as of October 17, 2026 and may have changed since.


